Awards & Bursaries

by RAD National Branch and our Regional Panels


Wits Theatre, Braamfontein – Johannesburg

SaTURday 3 September 2016

14:00 - 16:00

Tickets are R80 and booking can be made at the RAD in Johannesburg from mid-August.



The Bursary Performance took place at the Roodepoort Theatre in Johannesburg in May.

Ten Finalists who were selected in September 2015 at an audition of Cecchetti and RAD participants, were coached until the 2016 performance. They skilfully presented a carefully arranged class then a solo to music from Raymonda and lastly, a group dance to Essential Yanni - In the Mirror, all of which, had been meticulously and artistically prepared by Nicole Ferreira-Dill, Senior Soloist with Joburg Ballet, and accompanied by Jakie Roos.

The finalists were: Ané Bierman (Yana Auger); Ruchél Cornelius (Karlien Hugo); Nicola De Necker (Karlien Hugo); Joanna Doran (Marie Sadie); Paige McElligott (June Melville, Dorothy de Wit, Vanessa Eborall); Oke Odiley (Joanne Bobrow); Hannah Said (Gail Myburgh, Robyn Savage); Rhylee Smith (Karen Beukes, Anneliese Venter); Daniella Venter (Wilcarina van Niekerk, Annabelle Wahl) and Chandré Wiid (Paula Olivier).

The adjudication panel comprised, Odette Millner Parfitt; Elesia Ceronio; Michèle Gonçalves; Debra Gush and Nigel Hannah.

The programme showcased the children's ballet, The Creation, produced by Joanne Bobrow, Tracey McNiven and Amber Jones with a cast of 36 children and told the story of the creation of heaven and earth.

Congratulations to this year's winner, Paige McElligott from Johannesburg who is trained by June Melville, Dorothy de Witt and Vanessa Eborall.

Auditions for 2017 Val Whyte Bursary will take place on 10 & 11 September 2016. For further information, kindly contact
Carole McLuskie: 082 3791681.



Five students, all of whom were awarded Distinction for their RAD Advanced 1 examination, participated in this year's Friends of the Ballet - RAD Bursary which took place in Johannesburg on 6 March in front of a small invited audience.

The open class was artistically arranged by Debra Gush with musical accompaniment by Michael-John Sheehan. This year's judges were Karen Beukes-MacDonald and Nigel Hannah.

Sixteen year old Tyla Amber Spieth from Art of Motion in Johannesburg was the recipient of the award to further her ballet training.

About the winner: Tyla Amber Spieth is a remarkable 16 year old student showing extraordinary commitment and dedication to her art and strives to always be the best she can possibly be.

She has been with Art of Motion since 2011 achieving distinctions for RAD and Cecchetti ballet exams as well as AIDT modern.

Tyla has also achieved the highest accolades in Irish dancing until her decision late 2015 to focus on her ballet and contemporary training. In 2015 she made SA dance history as the only female participant at an international Irish event to receive a recall.

This year she has been awarded the RAD Friends of the Ballet Advanced 1 Bursary, a distinction for her RAD Advanced 2 exam and is entered for the Solo Seal exam in September. She is also hoping to represent SA in Australia for the Genée International Ballet Competition in December.

She made finals at this year's South African International Ballet Competition (SAIBC) in Cape Town; participated in the Youth American Grand Prix New York Finals as an ensemble item with Bobby Strong for international experience and will be representing SA proudly at the Varna International Ballet Competition in Bulgaria in July.

Tyla was also awarded the AIDT Solo Performers Bursary recently concluding all her modern exams. She expresses a true understanding of the shades required to make an excellent contemporary dancer enhancing her marketability as an aspiring young artist.

She has written her final Cambridge academic subjects enabling her to receive her secondary certificate with university exemption at 16 years of age, she is awaiting her result from London.